Tags

, , , ,

As I planned, I went to Soulard Farmers Market yesterday morning after a tough spinning and Crossfit class. I will be taking it easy this week with no Crossfit or early morning runs. Rest and sleep will be important this last week before the monster run!

Every time I go to the farmers market, I only bring $20 with me. This trip was filled with a variety goodies and I spent $19.25:

  • 5 pears
  • 1 pound grapes
  • 2 acorn squash
  • 3 butternut squash
  • 3 yellow onions
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 bushel of broccoli
  • 2 steak size tomatoes
  • 5 multicolored peppers
  • 5 avocados
  • 1 ginger root

…I think that was it!

My farmer’s market feast minus the veggies in the refrigerator ( broccoli, pepper, and tomatoes) and grapes I ate on the way home 🙂

I decided to make Butternut Squash Soup with kale, cannellini beans and greek yogurt while I still had my vitamix to make a smooth puree (I am sending it away on tomorrow). I created the recipe as I went.

Low-fat Creamy Butternut Squash Kale Soup

Ingredients:

All my ingredients except the seasonings (cinnamon, rosemary, thyme, salt, and pepper)

  • Butternut squash, cubed
  • Yellow onion, 1 medium size, sliced
  • Cannellini beans (any white bean will do), 7 oz can, rinsed
  • Vegetable broth (can use chicken broth as well), 2 cups
  • Rosemary, 1 tsp
  • Thyme, 1 tsp
  • Cracked black pepper, 1/2-1 tsp (to taste)
  • Salt, 1/2 -1 tsp (to taste)
  • Ginger, 1 Tablespoon, chopped
  • Cinnamon, 2 tsp
  • Optional (used in my recipe)
    • Kale, fresh, 2 cups
    • Greek yogurt, non-fat plain, 1/2 cup

Directions:

  1. Peel and cut the butternut squash into large 1-2 inch cubes and slice onion. Place into the crockpot.

    Peeling the squash is the hardest part of this recipe

  2. Add the rinsed cannellini beans, vegetable broth, rosemary, thyme, ginger, salt and pepper to the crockpot.

    everything is chopped and added ready to cook

  3. Put the crockpot on HIGH for 3 hours until butternut squash is soft.
  4. Soft butternut squash

  5. Scoop out the hot mixture into a blender until mixture is a smooth puree (I used a vitamix gradually putting the speed up to HIGH for 30 seconds). You got butternut squash soup!

    After the mixture was blended in the vitamix for 30 secs until a smooth puree

  6. Pour the puréed mixture back into the crockpot and stir in the cinnamon. Taste the soup to make sure there is enough cinnamon, salt, and pepper (add more if needed)
  7. Optional Step/extra ingredients: And add the kale and Greek yogurt. Stir well.

    With kale and greek yogurt

  8. Cook soup for another 30 minutes and your butternut squash soup is ready to be served!

    my version of creamy butternut squash soup

Now you have creamy butternut squash soup with kale :). The beans alone make the soup creamy, but Greek yogurt gives the soup a little thicker consistency. I would say this soup is nutritionally balanced with vegetables, carbohydrates, fiber, and good sources of protein (beans, greek yogurt).

CLICK HERE TO PRINT JUST THIS RECIPE

Let me know if you try and like my recipe!

Random: Remember my funky eggplant….I made another egg bake for the week with eggplant, onion, red pepper, spinach, kalamata olives, and basil.

I am all set for my meals this week! I even got seduction bread to have with my apple butter in the mornings or a night-time snack 🙂

Week 2 Crockpot Dinner will probably be mid-next week since I won’t get back from Chicago until late Sunday. I am thinking a chicken or beef dinner sounds good 🙂

Any suggestions or recipes you swear by?

I will leave you with a Grannyism that will might make you think a bit……..

if you didn’t know your age, how old would you be?

I don’t think I could say an exact age, but I am aiming to be young for a long long time and hopefully nutricising will help make that happen!

I am on my way to get a pumpkin latte 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!